Herrenkrugpark

Hilfsnavigation

Servicenavigation und Sprachauswahl

Twitter Facebook Youtube RSS

Hauptnavigation

BürgerService

Bürger Service kebox Ihre Behördenrufnummer 115

Veranstaltungen

Terminsuche

Schnellkontakt

Foren


FavoritenAktuelle Seite zu eigenen Favoriten hinzufügen
Imagefilm

Postkarte zum Imagefilm

Externer Link: einkaufen in Magdeburg

 

Externer Link: helpto

 

Inhalt

Der HerrenkrugparkIn the east of Magdeburg and close to the northern end of the city you will find one of the most beautiful and natural parks which is embraced by the picturesque floodplains of the river Elbe.

Already in the 17th century many townspeople came to this stretch of land, dominated by meadows and pastures, and they rounded off their little excursion with a visit to the nearby pub which was named Herren or Neuer Krug (new jug). Between 1780 and 1799, splendid tree avenues were created, however they were partially cut during the Westphalia reign between 1807 and 1814 and left untended so that the area become a thicket of trees, bushes and brambles. In the 19th century, the citizens of Magdeburg were living in a strong and urbanised city fortress and most of them felt the strong need to walk and relax in green spaces and to take a deep breath outside the city walls. Therefore, the Herrenkrug area was taken into consideration for the creation of a park landscape.

Between 1818 and 1824 it was transformed into a horticultural area mainly used for agricultural purposes. Then, in 1829, the famous garden architect Peter Joseph Lenné was commissioned with the overall planning of a great park area. Lenné decided to preserve as much as possible of the natural topology when he made his plans and due to this foresight the Herrenkrug area still boasts many large trees, some of them centuries-old. As the park was frequently flooded by the Elbe river, a dam was built around 1837 to keep the Elbe flood at bay. In the mid-19th century, a society house was built and in 1877 a regular horse tram service was installed. It was later replaced by an electric tram in 1900 and line No. 6 still serves the route today. At the beginning of the 20th century, a race course was added to the park. Some of the donated sculptures such as the iron cast lion from 1845 and the sun clock from 1861 deserve a special mention. The Herrenkrug park has been extensively re-built after its partial destruction in the Second World War. The restoration has only recently been finished.

Today the park enchants its many visitors with most picturesque scenery, many beautiful sites and innumerable flowers and plants. It is a marvel of garden architecture.

Size: 64 ha
Opening hours: free access, open all year
Admission: free, dogs must be kept on leash at all times
Parking facilities
Restaurant
Wheelchair access to main areas

Tram no. 6 until Herrenkrug final stop

- Partner -
Stadtsparkasse Magdeburg
Stadtwerke Magdeburg
WOBAU - Wohnen in Magdeburg
Schünemann Heizung-Sanitär
- Anzeigen -
wg 1893
SKL Industrieverwaltung
Spreewald Therme und Spreewald Thermen Hotel